What RISE means to me, Bethany

Written by Bethany Kogut

Who would have ever thought that a double or triple major, as well as over doing credits would bring anything relaxing or calming to one’s life. To me being overwhelmed with college courses just screams stressful. I definitely did not think it would, which is why I went the standard route for course load at 14 credits. Now that I have found my escape, I feel that I can conquer anything. I have always found a place or a hobby that makes everything in the world disappear and makes time stop. I can commonly be found in a hammock, behind a painting, or in a coffee shop. I wasn’t sure if I was going to find that spot at Michigan State, which made me question my decision at first. I had a tough choice to make between attending Michigan State and Ohio State. Since they were so similar, it was going to take something extra special to make me realize I made the right choice and, once I found my place, I was confident in my commitment to MSU. My spot wasn’t at the Dairy Store or in the Botanical Gardens. My spot wasn’t at the Spartan Statue, or down by the Red Cedar River. My spot wasn’t at The Rock or in The Pines. Instead, my special space was right downstairs in the Bailey GREENhouse. RISE has brought me to a place where I can let all of my worries and negative emotions out. It’s amazing how the planting of a seed can not only bring life to the plant but to the emotional self-being. The Bailey GREENhouse has become my escape from stress and helps me pull everything back into realistic terms. The Bailey GREENhouse helps me to keep my feet in the ground even when I feel like everything is building up underneath me. RISE to me is my roots. There are many times where it just doesn’t seem like there are enough hours in the day. I have had various times where I have papers due, exams to study for, and assignments to complete. Frequently, it seems impossible to finish it all successfully and still have all of my hair. Being greeted with a smile in the greenhouse gives a sigh of relief and a breath of fresh air. When things are flying out of my control it brings everything back together. RISE helps me to keep all of my college stress under control and grounded.

Leave a Reply

