Recommended Reads

Written by Bethany Kogut

Reading a book has so many benefits including becoming more knowledgeable about a problem, but a book won’t be beneficial if it is not appealing to the reader. Currently, I have found myself collecting a list of books about sustainability that I hope to read and broaden my knowledge with. A few of my favorites that I have read so far are “Eating Animals” by Jonathan Safran Foer, “The Last Child in the Woods” by Richard Louv, and “Learning Gardens and Sustainability Education” by Dilafruz Williams and Jonathan Brown.

"Eating Animals" by Safran Foer
“Eating Animals” by Safran Foer

“Eating Animals” was one of those books that just completely opened my eyes to the food that is on my table. This book gave an inside view on the production and process of the food that we eat everyday. This book was strongly opinionated, but very informational. “The Last Child in the Woods” focuses on how children are no longer being exposed to nature and are missing out on their own growth of creativity and freedom. This book also makes the view on nature deficit disorder, which is the lack of interaction that kids are having with the outdoors, more realistic with a list of potential activities for kids to do in nature at the end of the book. “Learning Gardens and Sustainability Education” was a book I decided to read specifically because I would like to use learning gardens in my future education lesson plans. This book opened up to me the many benefits and applications that are available in the use of learning gardens.

I would strongly recommend these books but if you are looking for other must-read titles check out: http://www.goodreads.com/shelf/show/sustainability .

 

Leave a Reply

