“The Earth is what we all have in common.”

Written by Bethany Kogut

 

 

This past week, I had the opportunity to sit down with a wonderful group of people to talk about community. Afterwards, I stumbled across this quote which really made me sit back and think. My definition of a community was a group of people with a common interest, or that just has something simple in common. This quote made me realize that we are all one large community with the Earth in common. Then I began to dig a little deeper. If we all have this one thing in common, why would we want it to be dirty, miserable, and suffering? Then I realized we are all a community that has the Earth in common and deep down, even if we don’t realize it, we want the best for it. Together I believe that we can become one as a community and help the Earth become clean, thriving and eternal. I believe that in order for a community to thrive, everyone must do their part. Therefore, in order for the Earth to stay vigorous for a long time to come, we all must take responsibility for a part of it and do what we can as individuals to make a difference in this large community.

I have now broadened my personal definition of a community to a group of people with a common interest, as well as a positive goal. A community is a place where you can feel safe and comfortable, and we are a community for the Earth, and the Earth is our community.

Leave a Reply

