Stewardship

Written by Kristen Randall

The definition of stewardship is, “The responsible overseeing and protection of something considered worth caring for and preserving.” For the majority of my life, I didn’t think about this word. I had always recycled and loved being outdoors, but up until that point had just never thought much about the environment and protecting it. Then four years ago, I went to California for the first time to visit relatives. We went hiking in Muir Woods, swam in the Pacific Ocean, and stood on top of a mountain from which I could see the sky, the mountains, and the ocean no matter where I looked. I have lived in a suburb my whole life, so this was all new to me. I was taken aback by how amazing something could be and realized then that I wanted to be a steward of the environment. School, work and friends are all really important, but without the planet that all of this exists on, none of it would be possible. That’s why I feel that nature is something “worth caring for and preserving.”

iStock_000011606573Small

 

Leave a Reply

