Reflection

Written by Kristen Randall

My RISE experience has exposed me to a different side of learning.  I grew up in the suburbs, so I had never really worked with plants, let alone help birth baby piglets on an organic farm or volunteer in a greenhouse. Getting to do hands-on activities like that has taught me more than a class ever could. I have wondered so many times about how I would pick a career without ever actually doing that job before. I’m glad that RISE has allowed me to try a variety of things, so I know what actually interests me and what I want to focus on more even as just a hobby. Not only has RISE given me hands-on opportunities, it has made the typical classroom learning experience easier because of the easily available tutoring and proximity of so many other people taking similar classes. It’s been a great experience to live and learn about something that interests me with others who share that interest.

Leave a Reply

