The Great Pumpkin (That Lasts for More than Two Weeks)

Written by Marie Clark

Midterms have come and gone leaving many of us feeling exhausted. Luckily, Laurie Thorp and Heather Shea Gasser recognized this and hosted a Crafternoon in the fishbowl on Friday where we learned crocheting, jewelry making, and turned button making into an art and created for hours after!

But, sometimes you need more downtime than just an afternoon! So, I turned my Saturday evening into a CRAFTERNIGHT.

After going home a few weekends ago, I came back to MSU with a few Halloween decorations and craft supplies. That evening, after a series of unfortunate events, I woke up to find my styrofoam pumpkin from six years ago to be shattered and defaced. At first I felt defeated and I thought I should just throw it away, but then I remembered I had my craft bin and that I could fix it. Screen shot 2015-10-26 at 8.34.28 PM

I grabbed my glue gun, acrylic paint, paintbrushes, embellishment glue, and rhinestones. Then, I turned on Disney Channel, wrapped myself in a blanket, and got lost in the movie Phantom of the Megaplex (my favorite childhood Disney Halloween movie)! Once piecing back together the broken art, I covered it with two layers of paint, drew on some Spartan templates, and glued so many rhinestones onto the drawings. And this is the finished product! It just goes to show how you can make the best things out of bad situations!Screen shot 2015-10-26 at 8.37.32 PMScreen shot 2015-10-26 at 8.37.48 PM

 

Leave a Reply

