Dynamic

“Nothing endures but change.” – Heraclitus

Written by Lindsay Mensch

My life is dynamic. Not one day is the same; the changes occur unexpectedly. My schedule is full of classes, meetings and projects, but there are also large blank spaces, pregnant with possibilities. I fill this time with my thoughts, some productivity, the occasional nap, several opportunities to eat good food, and a solid block for procrastination. Every day, I am unsure what will come next. Every day is dynamic.

I’m the type of person who wouldn’t mind staying at home for two weeks straight. I like to snuggle up inside a warm blanket, drink some tea, and read a book. But instead, my days consist of ups and downs, lefts and rights, insides and outsides. Sometimes, I feel like I’m subject to something beyond my control. I feel like a tree in the Michigan winter, as the weather fluctuates from day to day.

01292016

These photos are a part of a diary I am keeping for my Introduction to Sustainability class. Every weekday, we photograph the same location to track the changes that are happening over the semester. In only four weeks, I’ve seen great differences in the landscape.

There have been days when the snow beats harshly on these trees, just as there are days when I am overwhelmed in my ever-fluid schedule. Then it starts to warm, and the snow melts. Things get lighter for me. Finally, it is mild outside; the snow has gone and there is a freshness in the air. I am free from responsibility – at least for a moment.

Being dynamic can be hard. It can mean cold, harsh, unrelenting days. It offers little comfort if you don’t want to adapt. But being dynamic can be good. With adaptation comes knowledge. With adaptation comes excitement. With adaptation comes growth. Being dynamic is part of my life, just as it is part of all life on Earth.

02012016

 

Leave a Reply

