Pumpkin Spice and Everything Nice

By Kieran Maloney

Like pumpkins? Like cupcakes? Keep reading and you’ll find the recipe of your dreams!

Leaves are falling, the colors are changing, and the weather is dropping (kind of). We all look forward to the change in season because waiting three seasons for your aunt’s famous turkey, or your favorite cozy sweater is so much more significant. For me, ‘fall’ can be easily interchanged with ‘pumpkin spice season’.

When I first began baking, my aunt gave me the task of baking the pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving dinner. Long story short: fall of 2012 was not a good season for pies and it may or may not have ended with the smoke detector evacuating my family from my house. Anyway, I was not about to show up to Thanksgiving empty handed and because I was not mentally prepared to re-try a pie, I did what I knew best… cupcakes! With my mom’s approval I had oven privileges again and behold, Kieran’s pumpkin spice cupcakes with cinnamon cream cheese frosting were born! I even decorated some to make them look like pies so that I could say I followed my aunt’s request.

pumpkin-cupcake

Like what you hear? Here’s the recipe:

  1. Set aside one bowl and combine 2 ⅓ cup AP flour, 1 Tb pumpkin pie spice, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, ¾ tsp salt, ½ tsp baking soda, and ½ tsp ginger.
  2. In a large bowl, mix ¾ cup butter and 2 ¼ cup granulated sugar until fluffy.
  3. To the butter and sugar, add 3 eggs (mixing between each addition) and 15 oz. of canned pumpkin.
  4. Once fully incorporated, alternate adding half your flour mixture, 1 cup buttermilk, then the other half of flour mixture.
  5. Spoon into 24 lined cupcake tins and bake at 350. About 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick can be inserted and come out clean.

For cinnamon cream cheese frosting:

  1. Mix 8 oz. cream cheese and ½ cup butter
  2. Add 4 cups of sifted confectioner’s’ sugar, 2 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tsp vanilla.
  3. If the frosting is too thick, add 1 Tb of milk at a time until you reach your desired consistency.

Happy Baking!

Leave a Reply

