Poems To Console The Soul

By Claire Gault

To be candid, this past week has has been a difficult one for me. The election results did not reflect the votes of myself and many others, and with such a close margin of victory, the president-elect has incited nationwide protest. In this unsettling time, I turned to poetry as a source of comfort. I chose three to share – they are different in terms of message, but have all given me reassurance. I hope they will help you like they have helped me.

He Tells Her

Wendy Cope

He tells her that the earth is flat —
He knows the facts, and that is that.
In altercations fierce and long
She tries her best to prove him wrong.
But he has learned to argue well.
He calls her arguments unsound
And often asks her not to yell.
She cannot win. He stands his ground.
The planet goes on being round.

 

Blue Ontario’s Shore #8

Walt Whitman

Others take finish, but the Republic is ever constructive and ever

keeps vista,

Others adorn the past, but you O days of the present, I adorn

you,

O days of the future I believe in you—I isolate myself for your

sake,

O America because you build for mankind I build for you,

O well-beloved stone-cutters, I lead them who plan with decision

and science,

Lead the present with friendly hand toward the future.

 

Invitation To Love

Paul Lawrence Dunbar

Come when the nights are bright with stars

Or come when the moon is mellow;

Come when the sun his golden bars

Drops on the hay-field yellow.

Come in the twilight soft and gray,

Come in the night or come in the day,

Come, O love, whene’er you may,

And you are welcome, welcome.

You are sweet, O Love, dear Love,

You are soft as the nesting dove.

Come to my heart and bring it to rest

As the bird flies home to its welcome nest.

Come when my heart is full of grief

Or when my heart is merry;

Come with the falling of the leaf

Or with the redd’ning cherry.

Come when the year’s first blossom blows,

Come when the summer gleams and glows,

Come with the winter’s drifting snows,

And you are welcome, welcome.

 

Photo: lilou73.tumblr.com

Leave a Reply

