A Pessimist’s Guide to Thanksgiving

By Claire Gault

I would unashamedly label myself as a pessimist. I lament political issues, loudly say that vivid sunsets are caused by air pollution, and basically expect the worst out of everything. I relate to SNL’s Debbie Downer on so many levels.

So when Thanksgiving rolls around, I try to take the time to realize that things aren’t as bad as I make them out to be. I read back through my journal entries, smile at good memories, and really appreciate the love of my friends and family. I wrote a list of things I’m thankful for, and I’ll explain each.

1. Michigan State University

I am truly blessed to be a Michigan State Spartan. I have found so many inclusive and strengthening communities within campus – and have really found my niche with many international clubs and their members. I am so thankful that I was offered the chance to go to the best school in the world. Go Green!

2. My 4.0

I only have one grade entered right now, and it’s from a one credit class, but I’m going to say it while I can. I have a 4.0! Yeah!

3. Relationships

Although I often get tunnel vision in the day to day demands of college life – getting stressed about schoolwork, interviews, projects, etc., I know that I have people that unconditionally support me. Above all else, those old and new relationships comfort me and give me something to truly be thankful for.

4. The future

I’m thankful that I have a future in which I don’t really know what will happen. I will meet new people, travel, study new and interesting things, and become an active citizen of this planet. My blank journal pages have endless possibilities, and that’s what excites me the most.


Although I usually have a negative view of holidays, they have the ability to bring people together – literally and figuratively. Take the time to reflect on what you’re thankful for. It’s a saying I usually dismiss as cliche, but this is a great time of year to appreciate and spend time with loved ones. Have a wonderful break and eat lots of food. As Debbie says, try to avoid smallpox, and have a happy Thanksgiving!

debbie-downer-snl

Leave a Reply

