Freshman Year is Over, and I Have RISE to Thank

From a looking glass, it’s easy to say the RISE program at Michigan State is focused on environmental sustainability and consists of ‘all the kids that like the outdoors and nature’. While that is true, there’s so much more to the program that even I didn’t realize when applying. Yes, I knew it was a residential college but nothing could prepare me for the unique experiences and knowledge I’d end up leaving with.

 

Reflecting on the past year, I see how far I’ve come. I’m proud of how much I’ve grown, of who I am, and what I stand for. I’ve grown immensely in 8 months and looking back, I can’t help but think what helped me reach this point?

 

RISE, to me, is a close community of creative and innovative men and women who take what they’re given and produce remarkable things.

 

Whether those things be organically grown vegetables, solving environmental issues, or original conversation on experimental thoughts; RISE is comprised of these inventive ways of thinking because of the people that make up this diverse community. I’ve been able to speak with people from all over, and whether they’re well known professors, grad students, or first years, everyone has a new way of thinking about the same goal; helping to create a more sustainable environment.
I’m so fortunate to have this nontraditional college experience, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. The valuable lessons and opportunities I’ve experienced has helped me develop as a person and learn more about myself and what makes me happy.

Thank you RISE community, for helping me grow so great, in such an important point of my life.

Leave a Reply

