Welcome to RISE

By Remi Gonety

RISE means Welcome to me
Welcome is a word that anyone can hear wherever they go
Welcome can reduce, for a moment, the uncertainty that one is sure to undergo
“Welcome”, the RISE mentors and ambassadors joyfully told me when I arrived
Welcome was more than a word, it was “we are here to help you strive and thrive”
Welcome is those smiles and those beautiful flowers that I received from the ambassadors
Welcome is those ears that listened to me, those wise words of encouragement from my mentor
Welcome moves from the people’s mouths to become the support from my classmates
Welcome became RISE and RISE became this community that I met
Welcome from the RISE community strengthened me to know that I am accepted
Welcome gave me the right to belong and a duty that guarantees that I will also be committed
Welcome also means that I will always belong to the RISE community
Welcome, therefore, is what RISE means and will, for the next four years and beyond.

Leave a Reply

